What I read {September 2017}

September is already gone and that leaves us with only three months left to live, laugh and love throughout this year. That’s barely ninety days, give or take one here, one there. Ninety days to read everything that’s still gathering dust on my TBR pile. Well, I better get going and read, read, read.

It happens to me that as soon as I reach the amount of of books I set to read at the beginning of the year I relax and my pace diminishes greatly. I really don’t know why, because challenge or no challenge, I still enjoy reading. But the thing is that it happens and I waste a lot of time being lazy.

“It is not that we have so little time but that we lose so much.” (Seneca, On the Shortness of Life)

It is indeed so, we may have little time here on earth but we definitely make it even less by wasting many precious minutes, hours, days. So my aim for this final quarter of the year is to make the most of everyday and read, write, learn as much as I can. And enjoy everyday as it comes, hopefully making tons of beautiful memories with my loved ones.

As usual, I digress.

September was not a really bad month. I finished one of the books I was reading since the previous month and I read a substantial chunk of the other book I’m currently busy with. Only 250 pages left. Hurrah! Also, I read – again and again – several children books, both picture books and stories. I borrowed Where the Wild Things Are, by Maurice Sendak, from the library last Friday and we have already read it five or six times aloud. My toddler girl loves it!

Back to business, this month I read Around Britain by Cake, by Caroline Taggart, and I truly enjoyed every bite of it. A book about cake and Britain, what’s not to love about it? The author set on a trip around Britain to find out more about the local delicacies that used to be the favourite teatime treats of the nation but that have long been forgotten, though some survived in one way or another, and some are having a revival helped by the rise of a counter-globalisation trend that aims to put more emphasis on local produce. If you don’t have a sweet tooth, don’t even think of reading it but if you do, get ready for a British feast that began long time ago, as many treats date from way back to the Middle Ages, and is still going on on many pockets of the country. Bonus point, the book includes recipes fro many of the cakes tasted by the author – I have bookmarked quite a few.

20511525

I haven’t really read any interesting short story this month (ah, that should change too) but I have a couple of interesting links for you.

First of all, this post by Ed A. Murray is a reminder that NaNoWriMo is upon us and that if you’d like to take part and win, the time to prepare is now. Personally, I have never taken part in such a marathon of words and I don’t think I’m ready yet. I don’t have the time either. I know, I know, you might chiming that if I’m to take my writing seriously I should try and make time everyday, as much as possible. But life with a baby and a toddler is not that forgiving, so really, I don’t have the time.

Nevertheless, in case you’re really thinking of putting pen to paper in November and come up with 50000+ words of your own, here’s some advice (actually tons of advice) by a seasoned writer who’s given it a go – and won – several times. As a starter, here’s a post Frankie Thompson about how to get ahead at NaNoWriMo. Feel free to dig deeper in her archives, there’s plenty more content on NaNoWriMo and writing itself.

And finally, here’s a Youtube video by Victoria Schwab about Shiny New Ideas, how they distract us and what to do with them when we’re busy with something else.

And that’s all for now.

Have a great October!

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

