What I read {April 2017}

April has been quite a mixed-up month around here. It started out nice but then the weather took a chilly turn and we even saw snow a couple of mornings. Snow, in April, in the city. A bit late but always nice, as I have a huge penchant for snow. Besides the weather, April has soured in some other ways. I have received some sad news towards the end of the month and even though I’m not personally touched by that unfortunate event, it broke my heart to hear about it.

Moving onto happier things, I didn’t read as much as I would have liked last month, but I’m not unhappy either. A couple of books, some short stories and quite some on the internet. Let’s get down to business then.

 

BOOKS

  • The Brightest Star in the Sky, by Marian Keyes. Even though I’m not that much into chick-lit anymore, I still enjoy reading Marian Keyes. For one thing, her books are so full of all things Ireland, that they always make me reminisce the year I spent in Dublin. Also, her stories can be a dark as her writing is light-hearted and this one didn’t fail to deliver on that front. Depression and suicide are present in The Brightest Star in the Sky, yet the book has a positive outlook on life and fate. And a happy ending, of course.

7780464

  • The Time Machine, by H. G. Wells. Another classic revisited. I had already read The Time Machine many years ago but I still remembered most of the story and its images vividly. I enjoyed as much as I did the first time and find that much truth in its predictions and fears for the future of humanity. Again, as it happened with Frankenstein, I read this one in Spanish and I don’t know if that will have to do with the translation, but I find the language rather cumbersome and a bit tedious to read. But it might as well be that this is a 19th century book and people wrote that way back then. I’d love to hear some opinions on the original book.

7625187

 

SHORT STORIES

  • Seven Permutations of My Daughter, by Lina Rather (Lightspeed Magazine, April 2017)
  • A Singular Event in the Fourth Dimension, by Andrea M. Pawley (Asimov’s March/April 2017)

 

Finally, a couple of interesting articles I found online. As usual, they’re packed with writing advice, so take your time to go through them and maybe learn a thing or two.

Here’s a very insightful article about what editors like and don’t like from authors. Or in other words (probably those of the editor who wrote the article herself, how to get editors to like you as a writer-who-wants-to-be-a-published-author).

And this a site I just found today and it might take me some time to digest all the information in it. Story A Day comes with a challenge, to write a short story a day. It sounds really tempting but I’m not committing to this time because I know that I lack the time and energy to get through it, However, you might want to try and give your writing muscle a good workout during this month of may. If so, this is just for you. If not, well, there’s still much advice and inspiration to be found there.

 

And that’s all from me today. Hope you enjoy those links and stories and do not hesitate to share what’re reading in the comments.

Have a sunny May!

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

