What I read {March 2017}

Can you believe it is already April? Well, you better do because this is no April’s fool prank. Yep, we’re already that far into 2017 – a quarter of the year is gone and I don’t know where.

The last month has been quite a tough one. I guess that after a brief honeymoon phase with two babies in the house, things got rough last month and it’s been an exhausting one. I didn’t manage to get much stuff done and I’m not sure I have even written something during the past 31 days. Nevertheless, I did manage to finish a couple of books that I was halfway through and to read a whole book in less than two weeks I think. So let’s begin with the round-up.

BOOKS

  • Women in Science: 50 fearless pioneers who changed the world, by Rachel Ignotofsky. I know, I know. I’m quite cheeky to include an illustrated book in my list of read books but hey, half of the pages are text so it has to be read anyway, doesn’t it? Overall it was okay. A little less indoctrination would have been better but even with all its flaws it is still an okay book which makes a beautiful gift for any girl in a school age. Or any grown-up with an appreciation of the history of science, science itself, or merely fine arts and illustrations.

27405561

  • Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley. I have been going through the classics lately and I started my classics bootcamp with a reread of Mary Shelley’s masterpiece. Mind you, there was a lot I didn’t remember and I actually wondered whether I had read it completely the first time. I read a Spanish translation of Frankenstein and I have to admit that I found it tedious at times – don’t know if the original version does a better work. But even then, I like it and I would still reread it a third time.

18490

  • Nineteen Eighty-Four, by George Orwell. Again with the classic, and a very hyped one this time. Apparently, 1984 jumped up the bestseller lists again after Trump was elected president of the US. I had never read 1984 before and I had only a vague idea of what it was about, and boy did I like it. It actually blew my mind, in a good sense of course. This is a book I would definitely read all over again and find plenty to quote.

26087530

This is all on the book front. I have quite a lot on my TBR pile and I think I’m gonna stick to the classics for a little longer and reread The Time Machine, before I dive into the seventh Harry Potter book. I’m so looking forward to that one but I guess that knowing it is already the last instalment in the series is holding me back from reading it, as I want the excitement to last forever.

I didn’t read that much online last month, hence, I have only one short story to recommend to you. But if short speculative fiction is the thing you like, you might enjoy Tao of the Space Cowgirl, by M. Irene Hill (365 tomorrows, February 2017).

Finally, a couple of links to some articles you might find interesting / amusing / useful / moving / adjective-of-your-choice.

  • An article with some writing advice by none the less than George Orwell. It is in Spanish but you may want to try Google translator in this one. Or browse the net looking for something similar in your own language.
  • This brief essay on revision by Elizabeth Moon gives an overall insight into the revision process and its several phases. Revision is re-vision, indeed, a very simple concept, yet too often obliviated.

And that’s all for the time being. So up to you now, what did you enjoy reading last month? What are you currently feasting on? What’s on your TBR pile?

Have a not-too-foolish April!

Fotos via Goodreads.com
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

