What I read {February 2017}

February has gone in the blink of an eye and in spite of all the time I spent waiting and doing nothing around the house, I didn’t manage to read as much as I would have liked to. However, less is more, or so they say, so better a bit here and there than nothing at all.

I started several books in February but only finished one of them. Among those books I’m halfway through, I’d like to highlight Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction. I have read the first three chapters and I’ve already gained quite a useful insight into what makes an idea a good story and a good story a better story. I left just before the chapter about characters so I expect to continue learning quite some more. Anyway, if you have read Wonderbook I appreciate your thoughts about it.

So, the one book I finished reading in February was Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, by J. K. Rowling. I’m nearly done with the HP saga now and I have to say that it only gets better. Just like in the film, there’s really not that much going on in HP and the Half-Blood Prince. It is more a characters’ book, where the main characters and those secondaries key to the story are developed for the reader to enjoy. Harry is still a bit of a sucker in this one, but Hermione and Ron make up for the lack of likability in Harry. Dumbledore is right in the middle of the story and we get to know him like never before – he’s every inch as fascinating as we have been led to believe until now. Snape’s personality is also better sketched in this book and I guess he will be one of the stars in the last instalment of the series. Finally, Ginny turns out to be great, so bold. Loved that character in the film series and I liked her just as much in the books.

1

 

Now, onto shorter things, here are a couple of short stories I read and enjoyed this month.

  • Upgrades, by Barry Chapman (Daily Science Fiction)

 

And finally, a couple of links to some interesting posts about how to set up an author blog and what to write about in your author blog. Information is power, you know.

That’s all for now. Hopefully I’ll have more to share with you next month, though, with a baby and toddler running the house right now I don’t think I’ll have that much time left for reading, resting, cooking, washing my hair, and the list goes on. Anyway, I’d love to find out about what you’re reading lately, so you can drop me a line or two in the comments.

Cheers!

 

Image via Goodreads.com
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

