My goals for 2017

We’re already one week into 2017 and I think this is the perfect time to reflect on everything that happened last year and think about what I want to accomplish during this one. Now the euphoria of the new year is gone, now the past year is definitely behind us, I don’t think there’s a better time than now to sit down with a cup of tea and have a quiet chat with myself.

Last year wasn’t a bad one; it was actually a rather good one on many fronts. Family, health, happiness, all those get very high marks in my year review. But in this post I’m going to focus on writing, on what happened to my writing throughout the year.

I started the year with a bang and was writing daily for most of the first half of 2016. I wrote many flash and short stories and I even completed a couple of novelettes. I did solid reviewing and rewriting of some of them and I even went as far as writing a quarter or third of a novel-length story. But then I suddenly stopped and didn’t write ANYTHING during the second half of the year. Well, I did write things but no fiction at all.

Two things happened that put my writing in this unnecessary halt. First, I found out I was pregnant and was exhausted with first trimester fatigue. And second, even it was only on a subconscious level, I took one particular rejection badly and somehow let go of my writing aspirations. These two very different reasons combined in a wicked way and the result was … well, I already told you.

Keeping in mind that 2016 wasn’t that bad, I wanted to resume my writing journey this year. 2017 is going to be a tough year, I already know that. With a second baby at home coming as early as in February, I don’t think I’ll have that much time left for writing. However, I am hoping that this will take some pressure off my shoulders and help me focus on what really matters: enjoying the scarce time I have left for writing and learning as I go. No need to finish a certain number of stories, or fulfil a given word count or having something published by the end of the year.

That being said, there are some things I would like to accomplish this year. A few very simple goals if you like.

  • I’d like to finish a first draft of a novel I have in mind. Not saying much yet but it is the story of an art graduate who leaves her life behind to join the first manned colony on Europe.
  • I would like to write at least a short story per month, even if it’s only flash fiction (which is as good as any). That would be twelve short short stories by the end of the year.
  • I would like to blog regularly around here – after all, blogging is just another form of writing and any practice is more than welcome.
  • And while I try to accomplish all those things mentioned above, I would like to improve my skills, to become a better narrator of stories and to continue broadening my vocabulary.

Not really that much, as you can see. But I think that’s more than enough to keep me busy for a year in a mad house with two crying babies and endless house chores.

So, up to you now. What are your writing goals for this year? Whatever you want and whichever path you choose, I hope you have a successful year ahead.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My goals for 2017

  1. Pingback: From Guestwriters 2016 in review | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

